Recently, Instagram has been focusing on rolling out tools for both businesses and creators. So far, these new tools have included a professional dashboard, new creative tools, and shoppable catalogs. However, the platform has never forgotten to provide a better user experience among Instagrammers. It has already tested out sharing Reels on Facebook and timer listing on Stories. Today, Instagram is rolling out the “Recently Deleted” folder.
The “Recently Deleted” folder is a feature that allows Instagrammers to find and restore content they have deleted within the last 30 days. Here’s how it works:
- Any deleted photo, Reel, or video from IG and IGTV are moved to the “Recently Deleted” folder. They will stay in the folder up to 30 days after deletion.
- Stories deleted from an IG account will stay on the “Recently Deleted” folder for up to 24 hours.
- To access the “Recently Deleted” folder, go to Settings > Account > Recently Deleted on the latest version of the Instagram app. From there, a user can restore or permanently delete an item.
Instagram also adds a protection feature on the “Recently Deleted” folder. The platform will first ask for account verification before permanently deleting or restoring an item. Instagram will fully roll out the “Recently Deleted” folder by 02 February 2021.
Implications for Marketers:
Instagram’s “Recently Deleted” folder is an added safeguard to recovering content. For marketers, this can be a handy feature in case you decide to curate a deleted piece of content. Brands can also use such a feature to find a deleted content that they want to backtrack. In general, Instagram’s “Recently Deleted” folder benefits both personal and business account users on the platform.