Instagram’s chronological feed is back. It was disabled in 2016 to give way for more Instagram ads. As the year started, the platform enabled 3 different feeds that include a chronological feed. This is in response to a recent controversy accusing Instagram of manipulating its posts hierarchy.
Here is another catch to the issue. Instagram now tests two options when deleting an account. This is to allow users either to temporarily or permanently disable an account. This is one of the key focuses that Instagram Chief Adam Mosseri highlighted in his recent video post.
Alessandro Paluzzi, a mobile developer & reverse engineer, recently tweets the update. It was around November last year when Instagram started working on account deletion. Under the “Account Setting,” a “Delete Your Account” option was added on its tabs. Today, Instagram tests two options when deleting an account. The options are:
- Disabling your account is temporary. This means that an IG profile, comments, followers, likes, and posts will be hidden until the account was logged back in.
- Deleting your account is permanent. This means that an IG profile, comments, followers, likes, and posts will be deleted permanently.
Instagram tests two options when deleting an account on 10 January 2022.
Implications for Marketers:
The two options to delete an Instagram account give users a choice to think first before permanently deleting it. For marketers, this can be an option to open seasonal pages that promotes seasonal brands. Or it can be a way to temporarily hide an account under controversy and activate it once the issue mellows down.